William H. Traver owned a lumberyard in Hudson which produced fine millwork, which explains why the woodwork in his house merited mention. His house, 1 Willard Place, was the first to be constructed on Willard Place, Hudson's only private street. The last of the original houses on the street, 8 Willard Place, was constructed in 1892 as a wedding gift for his son and business partner, Charles Traver.
Recently, Gossips learned a fascinating bit of Willard Place trivia connecting the two houses. In 1954, Thomas and Julia Snyder purchased 8 Willard Place from Charles Traver. At the time they bought the house, 1 Willard Place was being demolished. The Snyders salvaged some of the wood paneling from 1 Willard Place and had it installed in the dining room at 8 Willard Place. They also salvaged a china cupboard from 1 Willard Place which they also installed in the dining room of their home.
Twenty years ago, Will Swift wrote an article about Willard Place for Columbia County History & Heritage, the periodical published by the Columbia County Historical Society. That article, entitled "The Private Community of Willard Place," along with the rest of the articles about Hudson in the Summer 2003 issue of History & Heritage, can be found here.
COPYRIGHT 2023 CAROLE OSTERINK
Post a Comment