On Sunday, October 25, Historic Hudson invites all members--past, present, and future--to explore the 19th-century landscape that surrounds the Dr. Oliver Bronson House, Hudson's only National Historic Landmark. On that day, the grounds of the Bronson House will be open to visitors from 11:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m.
|Photo: Starr Whitehouse Landscape Architects|
Visitors on October 25 can see some of what has been uncovered by the archaeological investigation happening at the site, view at close hand the bracketed carriage barn, walk the carriage road that once connected the Bronson estate to the heart of Hudson, and enjoy the amazing views from all points in the landscape.
COVID-19 protocols will be strictly enforced. Attendees will be required to wear masks at all times and maintain proper social distance. The ground floor of the Dr. Oliver Bronson House will be open to visitors, but the number of people allowed inside at one time will be limited and carefully monitored. Dogs are welcome, but they must be on a leash at all times, and their humans must come prepared to clean up after them.
The Dr. Oliver Bronson House and Estate was designated a National Historic Landmark in 2003 for its association with Alexander Jackson Davis, one of the premier American architects of the 19th century. The house was originally constructed in 1812 as a Federal style residence for Captain Samuel Plumb. A quarter century later, the house and grounds were reinvented by A. J. Davis, in two successive remodeling campaigns in 1838 and 1849, into a fully realized Romantic-Picturesque estate for Dr. Oliver Bronson and his family. The house is the earliest surviving example of Hudson River Bracketed, the architectural style originated by Davis. Its dramatic setting, framed by the Catskill Mountains and the Hudson River, fully expresses the romantic vision of the Hudson River School painters Thomas Cole and Frederic Church.
For those who have never visited the Bronson House, next Sunday's event is the perfect introduction to this architectural treasure. For those who have visited many times before, it will be an opportunity to envision the house and its future in a new light.
The site will be open from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Sunday, October 25. Entrance to the grounds, which are part of the Hudson Correctional Facility, is from Worth Avenue.
COPYRIGHT 2020 CAROLE OSTERINK