Wednesday, February 10, 2021

News from the Common Council Meeting: Part 4

At Monday's informal Common Council meeting, Council president Tom DePietro announced the creation of four ad hoc committees to address four of the ten issues he had previously identified as issues that would need as ad hoc committee "to shepherd them through." He also announced the day and time of each committee's first meeting.
  • Sidewalks  This committee will take up the issue of legislation regarding sidewalks, with the goal of improving the condition of sidewalks throughout the city. The two drafts of legislation generated in 2019 can be found here and here.  Committee Members: John Rosenthal (Fourth Ward), Dominic Merante (Fifth Ward), Eileen Halloran (Fifth Ward), Dewan Sarowar (Second Ward), Tiffany Garriga (Second Ward), Calvin Lewis (Third Ward). Interestingly, every ward is represented on this committee except the First Ward.  Initial Meeting: Tuesday, February 16, 5:30 p.m
  • Parking  When DePietro first mentioned this topic, it seemed the committee would address the larger parking issues in Hudson and might somehow coordinate with the parking study the Tourism Board agreed to fund back in December. Now, however, it seems alternate side of the street parking regulations may be a major focus of the committee. Committee Members: Jane Tromley (First Ward), Malachi Walker (Fourth Ward), Dewan Sarowar (Second Ward)  Initial Meeting: Thursday, February 18, 6:00 p.m.
  • Selling Buildings  The plan is to sell City-owned buildings to replenish the fund balance. What buildings will be targeted for sale is not known. Those that have been mentioned on various occasions in the past are 520 Warren Street (City Hall), 18 South Third Street (Youth Center), 10 Warren Street (Hudson Daycare Center), 429 Warren Street (Code Enforcement Office), 1 North Front Street (Columbia County Chamber of Commerce), and the Dunn building at the waterfront.  Committee Members: Jane Trombley (First Ward), Rebecca Wolff (First Ward), Dominic Merante (Fifth Ward)  Initial Meeting: Wednesday, February 24, 5:00 p.m.
  • Solar Farm  In September, DePietro floated the idea of developing a solar farm on vacant land owned by the City north of Charles Williams Park and east of the landfill as a means of generating income for the City. It seems this committee will be pursuing that idea.  Committee Members: Jane Trombley (First Ward), Dewan Sarowar (Second Ward), Calvin Lewis (Third Ward)  Initial Meeting: Wednesday, February 24, 6:15 p.m.
After DePietro made the committee announcements, Rebecca Wolff said she and John Rosenthal were working on inclusionary zoning, another of the topics DePietro had identified as potentially needing an ad hoc committee "to shepherd them through."

No comments:

Post a Comment