Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Governor Issues Travel Advisory

In a press briefing today, Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut were together issuing a travel advisory. Anyone coming to any of the three states from a state with a high COVID-19 infection rate would be required to self-quarantine for fourteen days. During the briefing, this map was displayed, showing the twenty-seven states in the country where the COVID-19 infection rate was increasing. 

Travelers from not all of these twenty-seven will be required to quarantine. Rather, which states are impacted will be determined by a formula: 10 cases per 100,000 on a seven day rolling average or 10 percent of the total population of a state on a seven day rolling average. States that currently meet the standard requiring travelers from the state to quarantine when they come to New York are: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas. 

The requirement for quarantine applies also to New Yorkers returning from a visit to any one of those states. Failure to self-quarantine risks mandatory quarantine and a fine of "thousands of dollars."

No comments:

Post a Comment